CANS Advisory Group

The CANS Advisory Group is comprised of volunteers committed to the new school’s success. We are looking for parents of potential new students and community members who are also motivated to help with planning and follow-through surrounding every facet of the new school.  Any level of time commitment is greatly appreciated. We look forward to hearing from you!



The CANS Advisory Group has three main committees:  Recruitment/Enrollment, Partnerships/Curriculum, and Communications. All members are working hard to help Cincinnati Public Schools (CPS) develop the best possible neighborhood school. Committee leaders are in bold.

Community Liaisons

  • Vince Metzger (Clifton)
  • Gary Robbins (Spring Grove Village)
  • Jules Rosen (CUF)


kidsbook learning.jpg


The Partnerships/Curriculum Committee is working to provide CPS with suggestions and expectations of the content and pedagogical philosophy of the CAN School.  They are also engaging community partners in education, arts, science, culture, history, and the outdoors to strengthen school academics and broaden educational opportunities available to students.

  • Kara Hill (co-leader)
  • Angela Potochnik (co-leader)
  • Luke Blocher
  • Christina Smart 
  • John Reeves
  • John Wachtman
  • Drew Schwetschenau
  • Brian and Heather McCarren
  • Basem A Fallatah
  • Krystn Metzger



Recruitment / Enrollment

The Recruitment / Enrollment Committee is working to increase visibility of the new school across Clifton, CUF, and Spring Grove Village and to help families take advantage of this educational and community-building opportunity.

  • Krystn Metzger (co-leader)
  • Mary Schubauer-Berigan (co-leader)
  • Sanja Bias
  • Adam Fosnaugh
  • Margot Fosnaugh
  • Chip Kussmaul
  • Vince Metzger
  • Morgan Rich
  • Gary Robbins
  • Jules Rosen
  • Andrés Pérez-Simón
  • Andrea Steege
  • Heather McCarren
  • Kate Schroder


The Communications Committee works to enhance community awareness of the new school and assist the community in communicating their desires to CPS.  They also work collaboratively with the other two Committees.

  • Jan Checco (General Communications)
  • Kevin Marsh (Online Communications)
  • Josh Miller (Webmaster)
  • Adam Fosnaugh

Members not currently on a committee

  • Emily Bae
  • Abby Moran
  • Mindi Rich
  • Chris Swoboda
  • Heather Schwetschenau